Three judicial elections won outright, four headed to runoff

By Kyle Barnett | Nov 7, 2012

Sandra Cabrina Jenkins (D-New Orleans) was one of three outright winners in yesterday's judicial elections after she upset two-term incumbent Charles Jones (D-New Orleans) in the 4th Circuit Court of Appeals.

NEW ORLEANS – Of seven judicial elections held throughout the state yesterday four are headed to a Dec. 8 runoff after candidates failed to garner 50 percent of the popular vote.

The out-and-out winners on the night were Sandra Cabrina Jenkins (D-New Orleans) who upset two-term incumbent Charles Jones (D-New Orleans) in the 4th Circuit Court of Appeals.

The Times-Picayune reported Jenkins raised no money in the race and paid her qualifying fee with a loan from her brother. Despite no campaign funding and having her opponent endorsed by Orleans Parish District Attorney Leon Cannizzaro, New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu and Orleans Parish Sheriff Marlin Gusman, Jenkins won the vote 58 percent to 42 percent.

In Orleans Parish Criminal District Court Section B, Tracey Flemings-Davillier (D-New Orleans), formerly a civil litigation attorney with New Orleans-based Phelps Dunbar, trounced Glen A. Woods (D-New Orleans), a former city prosecutor, with 72 percent of the vote to his 28 percent. Flemings-Davillier will replace former Criminal District Judge Lynda Van Davis for the final two years of her six-year term.

In the 2nd Circuit Court of Appeal, Frances Pitman (R-Shreveport)defeated David Matlock (R-Shreveport) 54 percent to 46 percent. Pitman will move from second term on the First Judicial District Court in Caddo Parish to take over the spot on the Court of Appeals.

The biggest of the yet to be decided elections is that for the District 5 Associate Supreme Court Justice spot. In that race, John Michael Guidry (D-Baton Rouge) received 27 percent of the vote and Jeff Hughes (R-Walker) received 21 percent, and are headed to a runoff election.

For the 1st Circuit Court of Appeal 1st District, William C. Dupont (D-Plaquemine) received 39 percent of the vote and Mitch Theriot (R-Raceland) received 34 percent of the vote knocking both J. Christopher Erny (R-Houma) and Mark D. Plaisance (R-Thibodeaux) out the race and also heading towards a Dec. 8 runoff. Dupont has served in the 18th Judicial District since 2004 while Theriot has a general practice, serves as a municipal judge and teaches business law at Nicholls State University in addition to having served in the Louisiana House of Representatives from 1992-2000.

For the 1st Circuit Court of Appeal 2nd District, incumbent Mike McDonald (R-Baton Rouge) nearly crossed the 50 percent threshold to win the race outright, but fell short by a mere one percent of the vote. He will face private practice attorney Gideon T. Carter (D-Baton Rouge), who received 31 percent of the vote, in the December runoff.

Trudy M. White (R-Baton Rouge), who is currently a judge in 19th district, was knocked out of the race after only receiving 20 percent of the vote.

The final race headed to the Dec. 8 runoff will be to determine the next 26th Judicial District Court Judge, Division E.

Assistant District Attorney Michael Nerren (R-Bossier City) received the most votes with 40 percent of the electorate while former Assistant District Attorney Whitley "Whit" Graves (R-Benton) came in second with 31 percent of the vote. Springhill City Court Judge John B. Slattery, Jr. (R-Webster) had previously held the position previously as a temporary appointee, but only managed to draw 29 percent of the vote and was eliminated from contention.

More News

The Record Network